PLACES OF INTEREST
Ardmore Bed & Breakfast is an ideal base for touring the Sunny Southeast Coast of Ireland. Ardmore with it’s six sandy beaches, as well as a host of other activities for all ages are all available nearby. Stay at Ardmore B&B and walk on the Cliff Walk and beauitful surrounding walks on a guided tour or walk at your own pace!
Ardmore B&B is centrally located and within easy reach to the towns and villages of West Waterford and East Cork. (The Round Tower) Ardmore, (The Rock of Cashel) Cashel, Dungarvan, An Rinn (Ring), Lismore, Midleton, Youghal, Cobh (The Titanic Experience), Fota Wildlife Park and many more are all within a short drive from Ardmore B&B.
Ardmore and it’s surrounding areas have so much to offer such as:
•Ardmore Pottery & Gallery
•The Anchor Art & Design Boutique
•Five Golf Courses, such as Fota Island Golf Course
•Splendid nature walks and Cliff walks
•Guided walking tours of Ardmore and surrounding area
•Cruises on Irelands stunning Blackwater river
•Scenic drives on the Copper Coast Drive
•Renowned sea angling and river fishing
•Ardmore open farm with indoor play area
•Tours of Waterford Crystal and visitor centre
•Tours of Jameson whiskey distillery (Midleton)
This lovely and popular seaside resort is on the South East Scenic Drive and has won many awards for its attractiveness and its neatness, including the National Title in the Tidy Towns Competition.
Ardmore is also a historic seaside village, it is the site of a 7th century monastic settlement founded by St Declan. Saint Declan lived in the region at some time in the period 350–450 AD and Christianised the area before the coming of Saint Patrick. It is believed to be the oldest Christian settlement in Ireland.
On a hill above the village is a well-preserved 30-m-high, 12th-century round tower and the ruins of a Cathedral and oratory dating from the 13th and 8th centuries respectively. The carvings on the West Gable of the Cathedral are special to Ardmore and depict Biblical scenes as well as scenes from the early Christianisation of Ardmore. The Beannachan and St. Declan’s Oratory is the reputed burial place of St. Declan and is the oldest building in the monastic site
Why not take the lovely cliff walk, a 5km walk which takes about 1 hour. At the start of the cliff walk is St. Declan’s Well which served as a Baptistery to the primitive Christian missionaries, nearby is St. Declan’s hermitage. This hermitage was where St. Declan retired for greater seclusion to a little cell which he made himself.
This walk is a circular route which runs by Ram Head passing the Coastguard Station (1867), the Castle (1867) and the Lookout Post (1940). This post was used during World War II by coast watch personnel to log all ships and aircraft which passed. It had a telephone connection to the village post office. Further on this walk is Father O’Donnell’s Well, built by a Mr. Rahilly in 1925 who found the waters of the well to have great curative properties especially for eye ailments.
Dungarvan is a harbour town located at the heart of County Waterford, Ireland. It is an ideal base for any tourist wishing to tour or holiday in Ireland’s ‘Sunny South East’. Most of the historic center of Dungarvan was constructed between 1806 and 1826 at the instigation of the Duke Of Devonshire. On the quays of Dungarvan is King John’s Castle it is an Anglo-Norman fortification founded in 1185. It was built in a very strategic location at the mouth of the River Colligan. From here ships could be anchored, and soldiers could command the narrow strip of land to the south of the Comeragh Mountains, which linked East and West Waterford.
Dungarvan is the largest town in County Waterford which has many fine shops, restaurants & bars with day and night entertainment.
An Rinn (Ring)
Ring or ‘An Rinn’ in Irish is an official Gaeltacht area near Dungarvan. A Gaeltacht area is an area in which the predominant language used locally is Irish. Ring is the only official Gaeltacht area in Waterford.
To visit Ring is to experience a unique culture while enjoying the many crafts, restaurants, pubs and outdoor facilities which the area has to offer. The love of Irish music, song, dance and language is infectious. Further along from Ring is Helvick Head with its fishing port and lifeboat station, an idyllic spot for a casual stroll or brisk walk. The ocean views are truly breathtaking and the pervading sense of calm a genuine tonic.
Built on the banks of the river Blackwater, the town has been a hub of Irish life since medieval times when St. Carthage founded a monastery here in 636. Henry II chose his site for a castle here in 1171. Lismore Castle is the private home of the Duke of Devonshire, but Lismore Castle Gardens are open to the public.
The picturesque town of Lismore was substantially restructured during the 19th century and is now designated a Heritage Town.
Midleton is a town in south-eastern County Cork. It lies some 22 km east of Cork City on the Owenacurra River and the N25 road, which connects Cork to the port of Rosslare. While in Midleton take the tour of the old distillery complex, built in 1825. Amongst the stunning old buildings on site, you will see the large water wheel, still turning today, and the largest pot still in the world.
Midleton is where Jameson & Paddy whiskeys are made & while you are there why not visit the heritage centre.
Youghal is a seaside resort town in County Cork, Ireland. Sitting on the estuary of the River Blackwater, in the past it was militarily and economically important. Being built on the edge of a steep riverbank, the town has a distinctive long and narrow layout. The port of Youghal has a 5km beach and many historic buildings. Youghal was declared Cork’s tidiest town in the 2011 and the 7th cleanest town in Ireland.
The Vikings used Youghal as a base for their raids on monastic sites along the south coast of Ireland. An extremely informative Visitor Centre, which adjoins the Tourist Office, will be of further interest, see and read of Youghal in centuries past and hear of the heros and heroines of the life of this illustrious town that was built by the Fitzgeralds in 1220. From here you can join one of the guided tours which will reveal Youghal’s ancient fortifications